2023 ETLI

48th Annual Meeting


General Information

The Engineering Technology Leaders Institute (ETLI) is an annual meeting of stakeholders involved with engineering technology education. Participants come from across the US representing institutions like community colleges, companies, professional organizations, and universities. The objective is to promote high-quality engineering technology education to support students, their families, and the companies they will join. Sample agenda items include curriculum, accessibility, industry needs, advocacy, and licensing. (The group is not political but does try to inform governmental actions.)

The annual ETLI is hosted by the Engineering Technology Council (ETC) of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE.) The ASEE is the international organization for Engineering Education. The mission of ASEE is to advance innovation, excellence, and access at all levels of education for the engineering profession.

Engineering Technology (ET) is one branch of engineering education that focuses on the application of engineering theory to the real-life practice of engineering. Most of the faculty who teach in ET programs have many years of actual industrial experience working as an engineer. Graduates of these 4-year programs become engineers in all industries. According to a study conducted by the National Academy of Engineering, ET programs have nearly twice the diversity of traditional engineering programs.


Details go here


Presentation by ABET

Administrative Skills Training

A session for new administrators in Engineering Technology programs will be offered in the afternoon of Friday, September 30. This will be hosted by experienced administrators and cover the basics and tricks you need to know to effectively lead your program.

Licensing Advocacy Training

There remain discriminatory practices at both the state and federal levels that have been found to discourage potential students from entering ET programs. The ETLI provides a forum to create strategies to eliminate these artificial barriers to entry that subsequently negatively affect the competitiveness of the United States in the global marketplace.

Professional Engineering licensure is now available to Engineering Technology graduates in many states. A Friday afternoon session will focus on the process of advocating for your students in your state. 

Monday, October 9

8:15am-9:00am Breakfast

9:00am-12:00pm Morning Workshop:  ABET (ETAC) self study tips and tricks with Barbara Christe

12:00pm-1:00pm Lunch

1:00pm-4:00pm Afternoon Workshop:  NSF Update/FLATE Mentoring and Partnering—present a

2/4 year group that has successfully partnered on a grant/program.  Best

practices for 2/4 year collaborations.


6:00pm-9:00pm Dinner  (speaker– Someone from industry or someone about AI?)

Tuesday, October 10

8:00am-8:45am Breakfast/Vendors

8:45am-9:00am Welcome

9:00am-10:00am Keynote:   Dr. Yvette  Pearson DEI is available this day Speaking, Training,

Consulting - Dr. Yvette E. Pearson (dryepearson.com)

10:15am-11:00am Faculty focus:  Hiring and mentoring new faculty (panel)—succession planning;

hiring strategies


11:00am-11:45am 2 to 4 year ET Transfer

12:00pm-2:00pm Lunch with ABET Update/Vendors


2:00pm-2:45pm Public Relations expert session—how to create an elevator pitch; promoting

programs; work with table mates on an actual proposal; best way to disseminate

information; how to better communicate between marketing and tech programs; 

marketing for DEI-B (belonging).

3:00pm-3:45pm The Evolving Demands on Our Graduates - Where Industry is Going.

4:00pm-4:45pm Session A: Graduate degrees in Engineering Technology.

Session B: Preparation of Incoming Students–Panel of 2 and 4 year student success professionals and faculty


Evening Activity--ASEE 150th Gala  Omni Shoreham Hotel, Washington D.C.

Friday, Sept 30

8:30am-10:30am  ETC board meeting with breakfast

Engineering Technology Council


Prof. Martin E. Gordon DFE P.E., ETC Chair, Professor and Director of External Academic Relations, Rochester Institute of Technology (CET)

Dr. Clay Gloster Jr, ETD Chair, Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate College, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University

Dr. Hugh Jack P. Eng., ETLI Chair and Member at Large, Distinguished Professor, Western Carolina University

Dr. Robert Weissbach P.E., Chair, Department of Engineering Technology, Purdue University Indianapolis

Prof. Gary D Steffen, Chair, Director, Purdue University Fort Wayne

Dr. Vukica M. Jovanovic, Associate Professor, Director Old Dominion University

Dr. Jafar F. Al-Sharab, Department Head, Director Northwestern State University of Louisiana

Dr. Vassilios Tzouanas, Associate Professor & Department Chair, Director University of Houston - Downtown

Prof. Ronald E. Land, ETNF Chair, Professor Emeritus, Pennsylvania State University, New Kensington

Dr. Ken Burbank, Secretary/Treasurer, Professor and Head, School of Engineering Technology, Purdue University at West Lafayette (PPI)

Prof. Patricia Fox, Past Chair, Clinical Assistant Professor, Indiana University - Purdue University Indianapolis

Dr. John L. Irwin, Chair-Elect, Professor/Chair, Michigan Technological University

Dr. Norman L. Fortenberry, Ex Officio Member, Executive Director, American Society for Engineering Education

Dr. Jacqueline A. El-Sayed, Ex Officio Member, Managing Director of Professional Services, Chief Academic Officer, & Director Institutional and Strategic Development, American Society for Engineering Education

Engineering Technology Division Leaders

Orlando Ayala, Assistant Program Chair CIEC, Old Dominion University

Marilyn Dyrud, Authorized Listserv Sender, Oregon Institute of Technology

Marilyn Dyrud, Program Chair, CIEC, Oregon Institute of Technology

Clay Gloster, Past Chair, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (CoE)

John Irwin, Secretary, Michigan Technological University

Vukica Jovanovic, Program Chair, Old Dominion University

Christopher LeblancChair, University of New Hampshire

Jay Porter, Publicity Chair, Texas A&M University

Jay Porter, Webmaster, Texas A&M University

Scott Segalewitz, Membership Chair, University of Dayton

Rustin Webster, Member-At-Large, Purdue University, New Albany

Wei Zhan, Treasurer, Texas A&M University